In stock
Grouped product items
Product Name Qty
Bossanova - Black Vinyl LP
Bossanova CD

Released in 1990, the Pixies' fourth album, Bossanova, was recorded at LA's Master Control Studios, and despite the natural distraction of an earthquake, the sessions went well.

Science fiction and surf music were Black Francis' new obsessions - the former represented by lunar lament ‘Is She Weird’ and alien abduction scenario ‘The Happening'; the latter by a cover of The Surftones' ‘Cecilia Ann’ and shimmering acrostic ‘Ana’, where the first letters of the song's six lines spell out the word SURFER. Further highlights included ‘Allison’ (a tribute to jazz pianist Mose Allison), Talking Heads homage ‘Dig For Fire’ and the romantic, theremin-driven ‘Velouria’.

1. Cecilia Ann

2. Rock Music
3. Velouria
4. Allison
5. Is She Weird
6. Ana
7. All Over The World
8. Dig For Fire
9. Down To The Well
10. The Happening
11. Blown Away
12. Hang Wire
13. Stormy Weather
14. Havalina