Out of stock
Grouped product items
Product Name
No options of this product are available.

LPs include coupon for download of entire album



4AD is very excited to formally announce the release of the next Efterklang album. Their fourth album, Piramida, will come out on September 24th.

The making of the new album started out in unusual fashion in August 2011, when the members of Efterklang (Mads Brauer, Casper Clausen and Rasmus Stolberg) went on a nine-day audio expedition to an abandoned Russian settlement in Spitsbergen, an Arctic island located just shy of the North Pole. Spitsbergen is home to more polar bears than people and also to the ghost town of Piramida, which was abandoned overnight in the 90s, and today stands as a slowly decaying ruin. 


To get a sense of what happened there, Efterklang have produced a video that gives a tantalising insight into this unique journey – it’s really the best way to understand how they obtained over 1,000 sounds to sample for the new album. Along with discovering the world's northernmost grand piano, the trio spent nine days exploring and recording the sounds that would inspire and build the songs on Piramida.


Their first US show in two years, and the only one in 2012 will take place a few days before the album’s release at the majestic Metropolitan Museum Of Art in New York on September 22nd. The band will perform with the 19-piece Wordless Music Orchestra. Tickets and more information here:


The band also has several Piramida concerts scheduled in Europe and the UK this Fall. A US tour will follow in early 2013. All dates/info/ticket links are at www.efterklang.net


1. Hollow Mountain
2. Apples
3. Sedna
4. Told To Be Fine
5. The Living Layer
6. The Ghost
7. Black Summer
8. Dreams Today
9. Between The Walls
10. Monument